Annecy vacation









our apartment

reviews

Since we started letting the apartment in 2010 we have received consistently lovely reviews. These are just those since 2013. Live reviews can be seen on www.frenchalpsescape.com and on our adverts on ChezNous and MediaVacances.


"We had a fabulous week in the apartment, its location was absolutely ideal. We really enjoyed our walks along the lakeside to the old town. There seems to be so much going on in Annecy and we would recommend the apartment to anyone. It was very comfortable and had all the amenities that you could possibly want. It is obviously very well looked after, we enjoyed looking at the owners art on the walls. Julia and Peter were a delight to deal with, they were helpful every step of the way. Thank you."

Steve & Barbara Dransfield (September 2016)

Owner's Response: Thankyou so much for the lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your time in Annecy. It's one of our favourite places on earth and we just try to make sure others can enjoy it as much as we do and that guests find the apartment just as we would wish when we go away on holiday ourselves. Hope to welcome you back another time.


"This apartment situated 10 minutes walk from the Old Town is an ideal place from which to reach all of the attractions which Annecy offers, whether it be boat trips on the lake or visits to resorts such as Talloires with its beach or the mountain resorts of La Clusaz and ,Le Grand Bornand.. The apartment is very well equipped and homely which makes it very easy to eat "in". There are several delis which do "plats du jour" and this worked very well for us. The area is quiet at night."

Paul and Hazel Davies (September 2016)

Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and the opportunities to eat in! Hope to welcome you back another time


"Apartment and facilities were great and every day was a joy. Safe and secure apartment block. Super lounge to relax in and comfortable bed. Excellent shopping in the street markets and nearby Casino supermarket. Easy walking round the lake and along the canals in the old town. Visited La Cluzas and Sevrier using local transport. Cruised on the lake with a stop off at Talloire. When we return to Annecy we would certainly hope stay in this very comfortable apartment again."

Ann and Ian (July 2016)

Owner's Response: Can't ask more that every day was a joy and glad the apartment lived up to expectation. Would love to have you back again another year.


"The apartment was lovely; modern, comfortable, quality furnishings; beautifully clean with everything we could possibly need; a perfect home from home. Kitchen was excellent; able to eat in and cook every night. Bathroom was very smart. Great location close to Annecy town in a block set back from main road, facing the lakefront. Easy to get public transport from the apartment; buses to villages around the lake ran from the Palais de Justice, which was an easy walk. Lovely ambience."

Pauline (June 2016)

Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the area around Annecy. We work very hard to try and make the apartment the sort that we would love to stay in ourselves, so always very happy to hear it has worked! Hope to welcome you back another time


"Wonderful apartment
We have had a fabulous fortnight staying in this apartment. It is in a brilliant location, facing the lake. It's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the old town, and countless restaurants, but there is a small supermarket less than 10 minutes' walk away. The apartment is lovely - spacious, very clean & well decorated - ideal for a couple. The king-size bed is very comfortable, and there is plenty of storage in the bedroom (loads of hangers in the wardrobe). It has everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, plus a washing machine & ironing board if you are staying longer than a week. Bathroom also excellent. Annecy itself is wonderful, and there is so much to see and do in the area. We would recommend the 2-hour lake cruise, and we also enjoyed a kayak & pedalo. The scenery is beautiful. It's well worth a trip up Semnoz, for the amazing views; but we also travelled further afield to Chamonix & Mont Blanc, and the ski lifts (open in the summer)"

Anon (July 2015)

Owner's Response: What more can I say other than we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Annecy is a very special place and we try hard to make sure the apartment contains all we would like to find on our own holiday. We hope we can welcome you back another time!


"Lovely Annecy
The apartment overlooking the lake and lots of open green space was just as described. It was very comfortable, very clean and well-equipped. It was nice to have the small balcony to sit out when possible. It was good to have wifi. We had some very wet days but were happy to sit inside in comfort reading. There are some wet weather attractions like an interesting museum in the Castle and of course many restaurants! We enjoyed being close to some shops and a very good Saturday market. In the town itself there is an excellent selection of tempting bakers etc We travelled from the UK by train and were able to get around the locality on foot, by boat and by local bus to either side of the lake and to venture further afield to places like Le Grand Bornand. We had a day out by train to Chamonix which is quite a long journey but the scenery great. The owners were very helpful in answering all our queries and giving us lots of information - good local info in the flat. We would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to friends and relatives."

Carob (April 2015)

Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is also a weekly market on Sundays throughout the old town and then on the last weekend in the month there is a huge brocante, crafts and local foodstuffs market. You can find everything there from some lovely pottery made by local artists, to antiques - right through to some of the toys my children had when small, but never realised they might be collectors pieces (old Fisher Price!!). It's fascinating just to wander through, even without any intention of buying! We really hope that we can welcome you back another time.


"excellent accommodation in Annecy
We booked this gem of an apartment for a 1 week stay in Annecy. This was our first stay in Annecy and we were not disappointed. The town itself and the surrounding area is just beautiful. The town is a combination of a well kept modern French/Swiss ambiance with a medieval heart (slightly reminiscent of Venice) in the old town. The apartment is ideally situated in a modern apartment block on the lakeside within strolling distance of the old town, all the restaurants, bars, entertainment and shopping you would want and is easily situated for public transport. It has a lovely view of the lake and the lakeside promenade and the balcony allows you to relax with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. It is a well appointed apartment with everything you could possibly need. The living room is comfortable and spacious, well decorated and has Wi Fi, Hi Fi, TV and loads of info about local attractions. The bed room with super comfy bed, pristine bed linen and ample storage space is what you would expect in any 4star hotel as is the superb bathroom and shower with its fluffy towels. In the kitchen you will find everything you could possibly need for a self catering stay. Entry to the building is secure and instructions provided on how to get there and gain entry are, as is everything with the owners, meticulous and helpful. If you are looking for self catering in Annecy you will not get much better than this. We found the owner friendly and helpful and only too willing to answer any queries we had. we had a wonderful stay here and would not hesitate to return again."

Jim (December 2014)

Owner's Response: We can't say any more than thankyou for your kind comments - we certainly try very hard to make the apartment all we would wish to find ourselves in a holiday stay. Hope we can welcome you back again!


"Wonderful!
We loved our stay in this beautiful apartment. Very well equipped and furnished. The owners have thought of everything. Stunning lake view and very easy parking. So much to see and do in the immediate area. We stayed during a very cold spell in January and the apartment was so warm and welcoming to return to after a day out sightseeing. We could happily have moved in permanently!"

Sandy (January 2015)

Owner's Response: Must admit we would quite like to move in permanently ourselves but life does not allow! Instead we try to make the place a special retreat for our guests! We have been coming over 6 years now and still find something new to do every time, just in the Annecy area. Hope to welcome you back again.


"Magnificent again!
Second time at the apartment and everything as fantastic as the first time. In a great location with a lovely walk by the lake into the old town. You could stay for a year and still eat in a different restaurant every night. We would definitely return to this magnificent place again, thanks again Peter and Julia."

Dave (August 2014)

Owner's Response: So glad you had a lovely time again. We have been coming out for some years ourselves and we still haven't tried even half the restaurants. Certainly hope we can welcome you back another year!


"Lovely stay in Annecy
We really enjoyed staying in the apartment which was ideally located, only a short walk to the centre of Annecy and very close to the lake and activities. The apartment is very comfortable and decorated/furnished to a high standard. Great value for money, would recommend!"

Anne (August 2014)

We fell in love with the apartment even before we totally renovated the place. With every visit since we just love it more and we are so pleased to be able to share it with guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.


"Fabulous holiday
Lovely quiet apartment in an ideal location. Annecy is beautiful, we were fortunate to be there for Bastille day celebrations, the firework display was amazing. The only negative for us was there was no allocated parking for the apartment, the weekend we arrived was very busy and we couldn't initially get parked. There is pay and display parking outside the apartment otherwise you can park in the nearby streets for free if you can find a space."

Anon (July 2014)

Owner's Response: We have parking right behind the apartment in what is usually a quiet road. You only have to pay a few euros to park here in the morning and afternoon - lunchtimes and evenings are free of charge. It is never normally a problem to get a space even in summer. We are within 40m of the edge of the parking restrictions in Annecy and thus park a little further away and it is free of charge at all times. However, the weekend you arrived was the Bastille Day fireworks, which take place on le Paquier which is directly in front of our apartment and is overlooked by our balcony. As you said, they are amazing, and in fact are know to be amongst the best in France and unfortunately that will mean lots of visitors and parking nearby will be difficult, as with any major event. But there again you do get a front row view from our balcony!


"Perfect apartment and Location
We spent a week in this well equipped and situated home from home. Being amongest the local people of Annecy but being in walking distance of the many wonderful restaurants the apartment is in the perfect location. Although we had our car we did not use it as public transport takes you to all places even the mountains. We would recommend this apartment without any hesitation."

Big Gun (June 2014)

Owner's Response: Couldn't agree with you more! Three years after buying the apartment we still love visiting and discover new things to do every time!


"Great accommodation
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartment at Annecy. The owners were very helpful and the instructions for access, the use of the apartment during our stay and departure were quite clear and easy to follow. The apartment is as detailed in the write-up and as pictured. It was quiet at night and the kitchen and bathroom are modern and user friendly. The location is great and the view of the lake is very good. Great value for the level of accommodation provided. The Annecy area is brilliant to visit including wonderful trips locally and into the Alps. Will return!"

Gavin O (October 2013)



Copyright © and Design by Julia Brown Designs